BECAUSE I DON’T KNOW

image

I don’t know what wisdom is,
Because I’ve never heard true idiocy,
I can’t define beauty,
Because I’ve never seen true ugliness,
I can’t understand what love is,
Because I’ve never felt true hatred,
I couldn’t say what goodness is,
Because I’ve never known true evil.

But…
Because I don’t know
What those awful things are,
I do know
That the people in my life
Can’t be
Ugly,
Or Stupid,
Or Hateful,
Or Evil.

So they must be
Beautiful,
And Wise,
And Loving,
And Truly Goodhearted Souls.

As for me,
The only way
They could care about me,
Is if
I’m not someone
They consider
Ugly,
Or Stupid,
Or Hateful,
Or Evil.

So it stands to reason that
I must be,
Beautiful,
And Smart,
And Worthy of Love,
And A Truly Goodhearted Soul.

This poem is dedicated to, my followers, fellow #poets, family and friends, who have proven to me that even if I don’t see it, I am someone beautiful,
smart,
goodhearted,
and worthy of their love.

Leave a Reply

