MANTRA

image

He never touched me
never did anything
but He still strikes a fear in me
because He looked places He should never look
He said things He should never say
He went places He should never go
the fears are irrational
i tell myself
im crazy
i cry
a mantra i repeat in my head for hours
He would never hurt me
He would never hurt me
He would never hurt me
but still
im afraid
afraid that im wrong
and maybe He will 
so i cover myself in layers
sweaters undershirts scarves
protection from an imaginary monster
whos not so imaginary at all
measured words
and extra clothes
have become my life now
the constant fear
gnawing at my insides
eating my brain from the inside out
and its killing me
but He would never hurt me
He would never hurt me
He would never hurt me

#putMeDownOnPaper.

Leave a Reply

